Why Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow on eBay Sometimes?

chrome bumper
How high is too high?  This rechromed bumper for a 1960 Oldsmobile has been languishing on EBay forever at $1770 plus shipping.

By Mark Misercola

 

If you own a classic car, chances are you’re trolling the intranet for parts. You’ve got your favorite go-to suppliers, maybe a junk yard or two, leads from the local car club, and then there’s always EBay, which is fun to skim through and great for comparison shopping.  And if you’re like me, you spend more time on EBay than all the others combined.

I don’t think it would be overstating it to say that EBay transformed the way owners hunt for parts. Back before EBay’s arrival in 1995, the choices were often long-shots — area junk yards, annual scavenger hunts at Hershey, other local owners or the classified ads in Hemmings. EBay put all that and more in one place in an online auction format for the first time.

Over the years, I’ve bought a lot of parts on EBay for my cars and have rarely been disappointed.  My greatest finds have been pretty mundane: Bulk shipments of period correct oil filters and fuel pumps, dashboard switches, headlights, clocks, side mirrors, moldings and trim.  Occasionally I will find a long sought-after accessory that I never thought would appear.

For the most part, I’ve found the prices competitive and many of the sellers are motivated for repeat business. But that’s not always the case. I’m amazed at how many parts listings languish online at prices that are absolutely absurd. Usually these are for hard-to-find parts, rare NOS items, high-end or fairly large items like bumpers, hoods and engine components. In fact, some of the same parts that are on EBay today have been listed on and off again for years without selling.

 

All that Glitters

One of my favorites is the rechromed front bumper pictured at the top of this blog for my 1960 Oldsmobile. It has been listed and re-listed multiple times on EBay in recent years for the wildly optimistic sum of $1,770 plus shipping. The bumper – both top and bottom halves – looks fabulous. But I know if I pull mine off my car right now and march mine it up to my local rechromer I can have them both done to the same quality standard for about $1000.  So unless I was desperate for another one, why would anyone spend that kind of money on a rechromed bumper n EBay?

Next on the list are a pair of convertible quarter panel windows that would fit on any 1959-or ‘60 GM convertible, including mine.  The glass is cracked on one side and the chrome looks like it’s been through a war. So in addition to new glass, both windows would also need to be rechromed. But before you get to that point, you will need to cough up $1,600 for the windows plush shipping.  

The same can be said for parts on my 1966 Toronado. The vacuum operated hideaway headlight system, which was problematic from the start, is no easy fix. The headlight switch with vacuum ports tends to leak from behind the dash board. And the one-year only canister actuators at the front of the car often crack and are just as unreliable. Yet a quick search of headlight switches finds one “OEM Delco Remy” that may (or may not be NOS) selling for $345.  It’s a hard-to-find part that’s been listed before and at that price will likely be there again. That’s a lot of money for a part that may or may not work.  

A set of headlight actuators for the ’66 are also for sale now for $525.  This is a fairly new listing but at that price I’m betting they’re likely to become fairly old in short order, particularly when more reliable electric replacement actuators are now available at a much lower cost.

I appreciate that these are rare finds, mainly because there aren’t that many survivors left, and that the owners wants fair prices when they have something truly special. But when no one is biting, what’s the point of relisting it again and again and again at the same price?  If I was a motivated seller, I would take a cue from the lack of bids or “buy it nows” and drop the price. After all, isn’t that the point? Sell the damn thing.

Rarely Speaking

Shortly after I bought my convertible I picked up a back seat speaker grille for my convertible from another Olds owner. I bought it because it came with an original intact speaker that would have replaced the temperamental back speaker on my car. But when I disassembled it, the speaker head literally crumbled in my hands.  For $50, it wasn’t a big loss, and I still had the grille which was in decent shape if I ever need it. But then I noticed a similar rear seat and grille assembly (minus the speaker) pop up on EBay for $650. The big difference? This one was billed as “rare” and “in near mint condition.”

When I finished cleaning mine up, it looked in near mint condition too. So I took a chance and listed it for sale in the Oldsmobile Club of America magazine without a price.  Shortly afterwards, I got a call from the owner of a ’59 Olds convertible, which used the same part. “How much are you looking for it?” he asked. “Well, there’s one going on EBay right now for $650,” I replied. “I saw it. And at that price, you can keep it,” he said.  I got his point and it stuck with me.

 

Today, you can bid on an “original” chrome rear seat speaker grille on EBay “with a few light specks in the chrome” just like the one I have for $20.  Finally, some sanity has prevailed.

Just so you know, I haven’t sold anything yet on EBay, but my spare parts collection is getting close to the point where I’m considering thinning out the herd for more shelf space. When I do sell I’ll do my homework and price them to move. If I list a rare part, I’ll ask a fair price. And if it doesn’t move after a reasonable time, I’ll lower until it does.  

Meanwhile, I’ll continue to troll EBay for virtual prices and keep reminding myself that all that glitters online may not be as golden as advertised.

Leave a comment